Interview with music composer Tiban

Eclectic music composer, Tiban, is gearing up for the release of his upcoming music album titled DiscoverME. A composer-based album, the music composer has been honing his skills for some years now and this album is a culmination of his hard work and persistence over the years. Luckily for us, we had the chance to get the busy composer for an interview session as he talks about his latest album and the Malaysian Tamil music industry.

tibancomposer

Q: How long have you been doing music?

I started venturing into music in 2003. Then continued my career within music as a sound engineer in 2006. My first debut was in 2008 (Oru Kathal Kathai) as a music composer.

Q: What was your first hit and when?

My first composition, Oru Kathal Kathai in year 2008. It was a big hit in both THR Raaga & Minnal FM. It was indeed a turning point in my musical journey.

tiban2

Q: How do you define your music?

For me, my music is food for my soul which gives me inner peace. It’s my life. I love doing melodious types of songs but at the same time, I’m also discovering new genres, such as Electronic Dance Music (EDM).

Q: DiscoverME is going to be a composer-based album, how long did you take to work on this album?

I wouldn’t say its purely a composer-based album, to be precise this album is also an artist-based album too. It took me around 8 years to complete all the tracks.

 

discoverme

Q: There will be a lot of new faces in DiscoverME. Did they meet your expectations?

Let me put it in this way – yes, they did meet my expectations, but at the same time I have also guided them on how to be a recording artist. We also provided vocal classes to further enhance their singing skills in a period of 8 months. All in all, I am happy that I helped them to discover themselves.

Q: What was the biggest challenge you faced while completing this album?

To be honest we did face a lot of barriers & hurdles, but with the blessings of God and the cooperation of the artistes & my crew members, everything went well as planned, which eventually led to the album launching.

Q: You have worked with artists from India, as well. Can you tell us your experience working with them?

It was a different experience altogether as they are very professional and cooperative while completing the songs. I have learnt many things, particular in terms of technicalities, such as in recording, singing, sound engineering, vocal strength and many more.

Q: If you could change one thing in the Malaysian Tamil music scene – what would it be and why? 

I would like to create more platform & space for new talents. I also would like to start a music academy, so that I could cultivate new talents into the industry and like to make them as a successful recording artiste. This is because I believe that when we do this, we will see the growth of our industry and we could go into the international arena. Furthermore, during our DiscoverMe Vocal Talent Quest held last year May, we found many fresh talents who were talented but never knew how to find a platform to express themselves. This is one of the reason why I wanted to do this.

Q: Name us three artist that you would love to work with.

Apart from all the artistes that I have worked with, I would also like to work with the below artists:

As for artists who are based in Malaysia, I would love to work with Rabbit.mac, Kash Villanz and Havoc Brothers. On the other hand, for artists who are based outside Malaysia, I would say SP Bala and Hariharan, also UK-based Teejay.

rabbithavockash

DiscoverME will be launched on 12th July 2015 at Soma Auditorium, Wisma Sambanthan, Kuala Lumpur. The album is launched under Tiban’s label – Acoustical Recordz. We at Trootz take this opportunity to wish Tiban the best and hope this album will make an impact in the Tamil independent music scene.

Leave a Reply

